The other morning I woke up to an epiphany. It hit me that I like the space I take up – the volume of space that I reside in that is. Furthermore, I should walk like I like it – tall and proud. But liking the physical space that I take up in this world is so much more than just accepting my body size. It’s also about the space I take up at work, with my family and friends and, importantly, with my voice and opinions. That’s the light bulb that went off in my head. And shining that light on me, from inside of me, changed me. It made me feel more worthy, more confident and more whole. It’s funny that such a simple concept, when affected so deeply, can have such a huge impact.

As Christmas approaches I can’t help but think how lucky I am. My life overflows with treasures of the heart and health. I am surrounded by people, friends and family, who love me and whom I love. And I’m healthy (very healthy according to my doctor). Recently I caught a sideways glimpse of my reflection as I dressed and couldn’t help but admire it. Certainly it’s not perfect, but instead of seeing the imperfections I know are there, I saw the strength and beauty of a healthy woman.

Loving myself, my whole self, is the greatest gift I can give myself. Happy Holidays!